So when I was younger my grandparents got me addicted to coffee, then around middle school and all of high school I swore off it.  I barely drank coffee if at all.  The only problem with this whole giving up coffee problem was that I enjoyed Starbucks fraps.  In fact, I craved them way too frequently.  Then I went off to college… and there was a Starbucks on campus.

That is what happened to me, and what comes next is how I overcame this addiction.starbuckslogo

When I moved to campus I started drinking Starbucks much more frequently.  Not just for the taste but because I was staying up later and later doing homework.  Then I started drinking plain coffee again too.  Very quickly I became addicted.  I knew this was unhealthy so I made the conscious decision to try weaning myself off of coffee.

I started at cutting myself down to 5 drinks a week.  After about two weeks, I cut myself down to 4 coffees and however many teas I would need to keep myself awake in class.  Two weeks after that, I was down to 3 coffees and some tea.  Now I drink about 1 coffee a week and I only drink that coffee if I have to stay up late doing work.

I still enjoy the drinks and want them more often, but I am capable of turning down desire. On top of this, I do not rely on the coffee.  I am working on getting off of coffee completely.

Ending your coffee addiction is essentially the same process as breaking any addiction.  Slowly, little by little, weaning off of the addiction.  One less sip every day until you no longer need the coffee at all.

bigstock-road-to-recovery-green-road-300x199More than anything else, overcoming addiction is about dedication.  As stated in The SIlver Linings Playbook, “This is what I learned at the hospital. You have to do everything you can, you have to work your hardest, and if you do, if you stay positive, you have a shot at a silver lining.”  This simply means, no matter how hard things get, you have to keep trying, keep pushing through… always.

For more help try reading these articles:

12 Ways to Beat Addiction

One Mans Story: How I Beat Addiction

My Movie Choice of the Week:

Fight Club

One thought on “My Starbucks Addiction

Leave a Reply

