I had this great group of friends, which I met in the first few weeks of college.  Making these friends was great for me because I went to a school where I knew absolutely no one else when I walked onto campus for move-in.  When the friends meshed together into, what we called, “The Squid Squad” two members were also in the process of starting a relationship with each other.

They started out great but things didn’t stay that way forever…

peace_warAfter a little over two months they broke up which led to a lot of tension between members of said “Squid Squad.” The girls sided with the girl who was dumped while the guys sided with their man.

However, one of my friends, like me, was concerned about losing an awesome set of friends.  Together we decided to hold a meeting, intervention of sorts, for all of our friends.  intervention

We spent a few hours talking, explaining how this feud was useless and dumb.  We all hashed out any problems we had with each other.  Most importantly, we moved on, and are all still friends with each other till this day.

In a sense, my friend and I followed the words said in Man of Steel, “You will give the people of Earth an ideal to strive towards. They will race behind you, they will stumble, they will fall. But in time, they will join you in the sun, Kal. In time, you will help them accomplish wonders.”  Obviously we were not saving Earth, nor were our names “Kal,” but we acted, and gave our friends a goal to strive towards. In return, they followed us and, at the end of the day, these acts saved the friendship.

If you are in a similar situation I may suggest you try the same, although I can assure you with 100% certainty it’ll turn out the same way, it is, in my opinion, worth a shot.  If you have been in a situation like this and feel comfortable commenting, please do so.  I would love to hear about your stories as well.

Might I also suggest reading:

How to Save a Friendship or How to Get Your Friends to Stop Fighting With Each Other

Finally, My Movie Choice of the Week:

Four Brothers

 

2 thoughts on “The Civil War (and How it Ended)

Leave a Reply

